Christchurch Earthquake – Tues, 22 Feb, 2011

Today, once again, Christchurch was rocked by a major earthquake. The one last September happened at night with no loss of life, this one has caused multiple fatalities. It could be NZ’s greatest natural disaster.

No doubt stories of immense luck and courage will emerge over the next few weeks. And certainly the city will rise again. For now, however, images of shock, horror and devastation dominate. People are enduring horrific injuries, situations and mourning those who have died. My thoughts are with the people of Canterbury.

For the latest news you can go here:

Running Report here

Images Here

About Karyn @ kloppenmum

kloppenmum is me, Karyn Van Der Zwet, mother of three and ex-teacher. I'm part of a revolution in parenting, with the aim to raise mature (not sophisticated) and self-assured children. I also know some stuff about adults. I have also had articles printed in The Journal for The British Association for Counselling and Psychotherapy (Children and Young People) and the US parenting magazine, Pathways to Family Wellness, as well I regularly write for World Moms Blog (named as one of the Forbes 100 most useful blogs for women 2012 &2013). You can follow me on facebook (kloppenmum) pinterest (Karyn at Kloppenmum) and twitter (@kloppenmum). I'm also vaguely on LinkedIn (Karyn Van Der Zwet). Thanks to Joe (Mr Hare) for taking the photo. Cheers, son: xxxx.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to Christchurch Earthquake – Tues, 22 Feb, 2011

  1. Jane says:

    My heart goes out to all who are suffering from this catastrophe. Thank you for the pictures.
    Jane

    • kloppenmum says:

      Thanks, Jane. It’s an awful situation and we’re just thankful that it’s happened during summer, destruction of this magnitude during winter would result in much greater loss of life and hardship.

  2. Lauren says:

    So scary. Its unbelievable how quickly someones life can be disrupted by something so catastrophic.

    My prayers are with those who have lost someone close to them through this devistation.

    • kloppenmum says:

      It is scary. At our house this morning, were talking about the lack of control one has during these big disasters. Thank-you for your prayers the people of Christchurch will need them.

  3. Laura Weldon says:

    Sending light and love. So sorry for all your country is going through.

    • kloppenmum says:

      Thank-you Laura. It’s always a, there-but-the-grace-of-God-go-we situation with earthquakes (Napier is prone to them) – we are all reeling from it.

  4. changengrow says:

    Thanks for the link. I looked through your bio to make sure you weren’t in that area as well. Glad to hear you are out of harms way! I follow a priest on Twitter who is at Christ’s college – we have reports that they are ok but no way of communicating yet. Scary stuff.

    • kloppenmum says:

      I am very pleased to be out of harms way too. The pictures we’re getting on our news are just horrific. I haven’t heard anything in particular about Christ’s College yet – some fairly upset boys and young men I imagine at the least. I hope your priest friend is OK.

  5. BinoandFino says:

    Hi Karyn,
    It’s good to see you and your family are ok. I wasn’t too clear from the news coverage exactly which areas the earthquake hit. We can only hope for no more aftershocks and that the communities and emergency services have the resources to deal with the situation. Stay safe.

    • kloppenmum says:

      Hi Adamu,
      Thanks for your thoughtful words. We are lucky to be a long way from this earthquake, but our city is prone to them too – so we never-say-never… There seems to be many people from all around the world coming to help out, and I too hope it’s enough.

  6. Elena says:

    Peace be with you all. Having been through the San Francisco earthquake in 1989, this news takes me back.

    • kloppenmum says:

      Thanks, Elena. These events certainly make us pause to appreciate, don’t they.

    • @Elena – I too went through the SF quake of ’89. As one who pretty much grew up in earthquake country, I must say I’m tough and am largely unaffected by quakes, they roll off my back. That SF one though really shook me up. It actually sent me crawling on hands and knees for the doorframe … then later, past that point, to the whiskey bottle for a few strong shots. (In fact, I remember getting rather intoxicated post-quake but that’s another story!)

  7. sophie-rose says:

    r.i.p for the people who die in chch quake. my heart goes out people who were affect my chch quake

  8. sophie-rose says:

    heart goes out to chch

  9. bridie-marie borland says:

    r.i.p for the people who died i am sorry for there lost in chistchuch it must be horrble
    to think what it like we are here for all the chistchuch people i pary for for all thr peole who are saffering that it will be ok i have seen a lot on the news and it brekes my heart that it is close to me in nelson it must be sary for the people who are down there
    i am sorry for the lost and pain that chistchuch is going throw………

  10. adhdwith3 says:

    We just looked up Christchurch on our atlas–my children want to know where it was. We hear that there are so many missing too–the world is in unrest right now! NZ is in our prayers.

    • kloppenmum says:

      The world is in a state of unrest. I seems every day there are reports of another disaster. I guess we just never think of it being in our own country. Thank-you for your good wishes and prayers, we are all reeling from the horror of it all.

  11. adhdwith3 says:

    I’m sorry this says adhdwith3–name is Sue–I’m not smart enough to figure out how to do that yet!

    • kloppenmum says:

      Hi Sue,
      I’m Karyn…techo-phobe here…so always impressed at other people’s abilities. And wouldn’t have a clue how to put my name on a comment either! 🙂

  12. @adhdwith3 – Since your blog name is adhdwith3, that naturally becomes your ID as you navigate blogs at WP and/or elsewhere. That’s how it works. If you want your comments to appear with the Sue identity, you will need to change your blog name to Sue (which has surely been taken by now) or sign your comments with your name.

  13. QueenArtLady says:

    Hi

    We are very moved by the trauma we are witnessing after the quake. After the September event we send money to various organizations to help out. But this time round we are drawn to assist in a more active way, so we offering accommodation to a family in need. My husband especially feel strongly about helping the smaller children – we have 2 pre-schoolers and we can just imagine how upsetting the last few days must be for them.

    While we are waiting for the official process I am wondering what we can do to make our home a safe haven. You have written in one of your posts about Dr Phil who ask ‘If your home is a soft place to land for each of the family members” and I keep thinking of that line and how to achieve it for a family we don’t know. And I would appreciate some suggestions.
    I was thinking along the lines of ‘Warmth’ as in Waldorf terms. Warming food, maybe a few warm colors etc to decorate the spare bedrooms. I believe strongly in storytelling and wondered if there are any healing stories that people might know.
    We realize we will have to be very sensitive to the needs of the other family.
    Thank you

    • kloppenmum says:

      I think that it’s great that you are able to be very practical with your help for the earthquake victims. The only bit I’ve written about Dr Phil was about a woman with very few parenting skills…perhaps you read the ‘soft landing’ elsewhere. I would say yes to the warmth aspect, though cautious about the story telling. Silence might be the biggest gift you can give them, perhaps give them the space to tell their story, if they want to. I would suggest you ask my blogging buddy hakea (her link is on my blogroll) and Carrie at Parenting Passageway (link also on my blogroll) for their advice. They might have something more to offer. Best wishes.

  14. QueenArtLady says:

    Hi Karyn
    Thank you, I know you must be very busy and appreciate your reply. And I will definitely contact Carrie.
    I am an artist and the kids have paper and art material in various parts of the house. I thought this afternoon that even just having the art material available and getting my kids to do the project they normally do – the family might feel free to use art as a medium of therapy as well. And yes, lots of quiet, rhythm and play time.

    • kloppenmum says:

      I think a bit of art therapy would be great. And just being able to play with your kids in a calm environment will make such a difference to the children, and when I think the adults see their kids relaxing it will give them permission to do so too. I think it’s marvellous you can help in a very practical way.

Leave a Reply

