Koha

In Maori culture there is a concept called Koha. The most common way I have seen it used is when people visit a Marae.(http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Marae) Where everything is provided for you with the expectation that koha will be given to the hosting Marae as a way of saying thankyou.

I also have friends who use the principle in their businesses, especially in the healing industries eg, Reiki, massage and chiropractic. It’s a great way for everyone to access what they need whatever their personal situation.

So, what is Koha?

It’s a donation. The amount is determined by the giver according to their ability to pay and the quality of the service.

So, as a mad attempt to make this blog into my job I’ve added a koha link at the side of the page – right under the blogroll. If you want to donate (and there is NO obligation to do so I’m having a great time blogging and sharing all of my findings and will continue to do so regardless) go right ahead and do the ole paypal thing.

It’s up to you how much you donate: if there is a post you find particularly useful send us a million…heeheeheehee. I’ve set it up so that US $ are the ones you’ll be donating in, as I think the States is still hanging in there as far as standard currency goes.

Quite frankly I’ve worked my butt off the past few years learning all this stuff – so if I can help others and get paid to do so – it’s a win-win situation, and I’m all for them. 🙂

About Karyn @ kloppenmum

kloppenmum is me, Karyn Van Der Zwet, mother of three and ex-teacher. I'm part of a revolution in parenting, with the aim to raise mature (not sophisticated) and self-assured children. I also know some stuff about adults. I have also had articles printed in The Journal for The British Association for Counselling and Psychotherapy (Children and Young People) and the US parenting magazine, Pathways to Family Wellness, as well I regularly write for World Moms Blog (named as one of the Forbes 100 most useful blogs for women 2012 &2013). You can follow me on facebook (kloppenmum) pinterest (Karyn at Kloppenmum) and twitter (@kloppenmum). I'm also vaguely on LinkedIn (Karyn Van Der Zwet). Thanks to Joe (Mr Hare) for taking the photo. Cheers, son: xxxx.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Koha

  1. kris laroche says:

    Way to go, Karyn. I’m wishing you great success in making this a viable business for your family. Thank you for all you give us. xo Kris

    • Thanks Kris! I figure nothing ventured – nothing gained. Plus all three of our boys have healthy appetites. Apparently it’s our job to provide the food – who knew?! 😉

  2. Kia ora!
    Great idea! It’s hard work blogging, and with the subject of parenting, good advice is hard to find and worth it’s weight in gold! Thank you for all you do! I know you have been a wonderful source of insight for me, and it’s so nice to know you’re “out there” somewhere. 🙂 (Somewhere being my favorite place of earth!) I will offer my koha soon!

    • Seriously, no pressure. Just thought I’d put it out into the Universe and to see what happened! I am so pleased that you’ve found all this useful, and I love chatting with all my blog buddies too. 🙂

  3. Laura Weldon says:

    Karyn my friend, this reminds me of the Native American gift cultures, the tradition of giving more than you get. This is something we do as parents and something YOU do for all of your readers. I feel blessed by every one of your posts.

    I can’t contribute right now. If I come into sudden wealth I plot to distribute it anonymously, so if a pile of secret money comes your way and it’s me I’ll never admit it. But I have been thinking of talking to you about collaborating on a book project. Is that something you’d be interested in doing?

    • A book project sounds fun and I’d love to do one with you, Laura. And I love blogging and sharing all my findings – the idea of making Koha possible was to see if I could turn it into a job – I’ve already had my first contribution, so perhaps it will happen. 🙂 I didn’t know that, about Native American gift culture, it sounds like it’s a similar concept to Koha. I’ll have to get to the library and see if I can find out more.

Leave a Reply

