Understanding the Waldorf Approach to Teaching Reading

If you’ve ever wondered why children at Rudolf Steiner schools don’t learn to read as early as children in the state system here’s a great post here to explain it all. Of course, we cannot assume that earlier is better…can we?

About Karyn @ kloppenmum

kloppenmum is me, Karyn Van Der Zwet, mother of three and ex-teacher. I'm part of a revolution in parenting, with the aim to raise mature (not sophisticated) and self-assured children. I also know some stuff about adults. I have also had articles printed in The Journal for The British Association for Counselling and Psychotherapy (Children and Young People) and the US parenting magazine, Pathways to Family Wellness, as well I regularly write for World Moms Blog (named as one of the Forbes 100 most useful blogs for women 2012 &2013). You can follow me on facebook (kloppenmum) pinterest (Karyn at Kloppenmum) and twitter (@kloppenmum). I'm also vaguely on LinkedIn (Karyn Van Der Zwet). Thanks to Joe (Mr Hare) for taking the photo. Cheers, son: xxxx.
This entry was posted in Education. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Understanding the Waldorf Approach to Teaching Reading

  1. adhdwith3 says:

    I have previously looked into the Waldorf philosophy, and I have been really impressed. I really wanted to put my oldest child in such a program but the closest program was over an hour away and was very expensive.

    I know my children would flourish in that program. Is their philosphy similar to Montesorri?

    • It’s very different to Montessori, but they are often confused. We are very lucky that the NZ government pays a large portion of our fees for us, so that anyone who wishes to send their children to a Waldorf school and is prepared to take on at least some of the philosophy, can usually manage financially. Carrie at the parenting passageway (link on my blogroll) has some great ideas for homeschooling – but even just doing these things at home incidentally might appeal to your kids and work with your family.

Leave a Reply

