Mindful Disconnection – A Story

Yesterday, at around 3.35pm, we began our usual walk to the bus-stop to fetch Mr Hare. Mr Butterfly was in the buggy and Mr Owl was walking beside me.

After around five mintues of walking Mr Owl said, “Oh no! I’ve forgotten my scooter. I won’t be able to trade it for Mr Hare’s Reading books.”

“Oh well,” I said, “You can look at them once we get home.”

“But I reeeeeealllly want to look at them while we walk home.” And he stops walking.

“I know you enjoy them Honey, but it’s time to go the bus-stop to get Mr Hare and we’re too far from home to go back now.” I keep walking.

“My legs are really tired.” He begins to walk but veeeeery slowly.

“That’s a shame.” I keep walking.

“I can’t walk and my arms are pulling me down.” And he walks along with his arms nearly dragging on the ground.

“Oh dear, that makes it hard work for you.” And I keep walking.

“Mummy! I’ve fallen on the grass.”

I look behind me and keep walking. “So you have.”

“I can’t move, I’m so tired.”

I keep walking.

“I can’t get up.”

“That’s a shame.” And keep walking. Now about 15 metres away from him and turning into the alleyway which means soon I’ll be out of sight.

He gets up and trots to catch up. I stop and wait for him. When he reaches me, I give him a hug and kiss the top of his head. He looks up at me; we make yummy eye-contact and smile at each other.

We walk to the bus-stop together.

The End.

For the start of the series on Mindful Disconnection: why it’s important and how to go about it go here – Connection and Disconnection: Optimal Parenting Part One.

(This is officially how I help put food on the table. If you’ve found this article useful, please feel free to use the Koha button just above my blogroll. Even the smallest amount is appreciated. 🙂 )

About Karyn @ kloppenmum

kloppenmum is me, Karyn Van Der Zwet, mother of three and ex-teacher. I'm part of a revolution in parenting, with the aim to raise mature (not sophisticated) and self-assured children. I also know some stuff about adults. I have also had articles printed in The Journal for The British Association for Counselling and Psychotherapy (Children and Young People) and the US parenting magazine, Pathways to Family Wellness, as well I regularly write for World Moms Blog (named as one of the Forbes 100 most useful blogs for women 2012 &2013). You can follow me on facebook (kloppenmum) pinterest (Karyn at Kloppenmum) and twitter (@kloppenmum). I'm also vaguely on LinkedIn (Karyn Van Der Zwet). Thanks to Joe (Mr Hare) for taking the photo. Cheers, son: xxxx.
This entry was posted in Boundary Setting, Parenting Tricks and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Mindful Disconnection – A Story

  1. Laura Weldon says:

    So much more clear through a story. Thanks.

  2. Li-ling says:

    What patience….Thanks for sharing that.

  3. tanoshinde says:

    This is one of the most powerful demonstrations of what I would call ‘good parenting’ that I’ve read thus far. I think I’m going to print out your whole blog and read through it with DD just in case we ever manage to have kids. If not, it might come in handy for managing some of my less-mature friends 😉

    • LOL at the immature friends bit…yes it’s not just children who need a bit of mindful disconnection sometimes! Hope all is going well over at yours. I must try and subscribe again; I’m missing our chats. 🙂

  4. Yulia Yudith says:

    hi Karyn, it is a nice story…

  5. Like it! Great example thanks.

Leave a Reply

