Me and Seasonally Affected Depression

MY SAD is kicking in and my energy levels have dropped dramatically. I’ll be around as much as I can – I know some of you are waiting for some key posts to go up. And I need to work on the ebook… Will comment on blogs as much as I can too: facebook and twitter now (hopefully) automated – new posts should appear as soon as I publish here. Am thinking of you all – especially those of you who regularly leave comments. 😉

Karyn

About Karyn @ kloppenmum

kloppenmum is me, Karyn Van Der Zwet, mother of three and ex-teacher. I'm part of a revolution in parenting, with the aim to raise mature (not sophisticated) and self-assured children. I also know some stuff about adults. I have also had articles printed in The Journal for The British Association for Counselling and Psychotherapy (Children and Young People) and the US parenting magazine, Pathways to Family Wellness, as well I regularly write for World Moms Blog (named as one of the Forbes 100 most useful blogs for women 2012 &2013). You can follow me on facebook (kloppenmum) pinterest (Karyn at Kloppenmum) and twitter (@kloppenmum). I'm also vaguely on LinkedIn (Karyn Van Der Zwet). Thanks to Joe (Mr Hare) for taking the photo. Cheers, son: xxxx.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to Me and Seasonally Affected Depression

  1. Laura Weldon says:

    Oh, I feel for you. I suffer from SAD too, though not nearly as much as I did when I was in my 20’s. Maybe because I get more regular sleep as the decades scroll by. And sleep does have something to do with it. One resource that really helped me understand is the book “Lights Out: Sleep, Sugar, and Survival” by T.S. Wiley. Take care of yourself dear. The e-book and comments and everything else you do isn’t imperative. Instead, lean toward joy wherever you find it like a plant inclines toward the sunny window. I’m sending you a hug.

    • Thanks, Laura. I believe that SAD is connected to sleep too – it’s definitely been worse the past 10 years with pregnancies and small children. It’s been less this year as we’ve had a mild-winter with lots of sunshine, but the early dusk seems to be getting me this year (whether it has before and I haven’t noticed…). I will have to take a look at that book at some stage. Thanks for your hug – it’s appreciated. 🙂

  2. Marcy says:

    I’m sorry to hear you’ve got to deal with SAD. Not much fun. May stuff help.

  3. Sorry to hear the energy levels are depleted – makes me doubly grateful for the positive energy you were sending my way for my DIL.

    Sending some back your way along with some cyber hugs – take care of you and we’ll still be around 🙂

  4. Yulia Yudith says:

    So sorry to hear that. You will be ok, Karyn, be strong and take care 🙂

  5. thirdeyemom says:

    Hello from the other side of the world! We are FINALLY in summer here in Minnesota. It is finally sunny, hot (100 yesterday) and wonderufl. WE live in a brutal climate with six long months of winter. For me, I suffered severe PPD after the birth of my first child and what saved me in life was running. I run year round, and actually prefer winter running. Getting outside and getting those endorphins going and the much needed vitamin D make my life so much happier! We had three weeks of rain and clouds the first few weeks of summer in June and I was getting so cranky. I agree that the sunshine helps. Have you ever tried a sunl light? ANyway, I’m here as your online buddy! So write if need be. I also would love to hear more from you on how you got your Facebook stuff and twitter connected with your blog and how you are using it. I have not done that yet and have no idea how to. Is your FB page for you blog or your friends? Take care and try to get some outdoor exercise as I believe strongly that it helps depression !!!! 🙂

    • Hi Nicole,
      Thanks for your blog-buddy-ness. I certainly couldn’t manage any northern hemisphere winters: I lived in London for four years and I really struggled. We are having a really mild winter here this year and so I am getting more sunlight than normal – which is why the SAD hasn’t hit me until now. I walk every day that the sun is shining (at least to the bus-stop with Mr Hare and back again) and I can understand that winter running would be appealing to you. I’m finding Facebook kind of odd in that it’s like all the threads of my life meet there – it’s for friends, old friends, the blog, and anyone else who cares to join in. I will try and send you the link for joining everything together. Laura sent it to me and I just clicked stuff (so techie! LOL). Thanks for your lovely long comment. 🙂

  6. QueenArtLady says:

    Hi Karyn

    Best wishes with the SAD. Take care of yourself and your family, what is most important in your life. We will be thinking about you.

  7. Kristanne says:

    Karyn,
    I know what you mean re darkness. I’m in Canberra and its dark by 5 in the arvo! Depressing. I’m originally from northern hemisphere and my birthday was on the summer solstice. But now its on the winter solstice! That’s the only thing I haven’t become accustomed to after living here 12 years! May you find light and joy indoors…

    • Thanks, Kristanne. It’s 5.30pm darkness here and I think those early nights are also contributing. Another few weeks and I’ll be back on track again. Just trying to listen to my body and brain rather than push-through… (Happy Birthday – it must have just been.)

  8. Narelle says:

    Have you got school holidays at the moment? Hopefully, when the kids are on holidays and there is not so much having to have things prepared every day, you can take some time to relax and soak up the sunshine.

    • Thanks Narelle. Sadly the Rugby Union World Cup was more important to the powers that be than everyone’s health – we are *meant* to be having holidays but they aren’t for another two weeks. Grrrrrrr. Am chilling as much as I can.

  9. Lauren says:

    Keep strong! We are thinking of you!

  10. I know SAD extremely and painfully all too well. If you’re interested in an herbal approach, 5-HTP and Vitamin D supplements seem more effective than St. John’s Wort.

    • Thanks for that. I’m still trying to avoid supplementation at the moment as I really feel our bodies need to rest during the winter, but certainly if it gets worse I’ll remember your advice. Thanks. 🙂

  11. I also agree with thirdeyemom – let Mother Nature help, even when the sun is not shining! It’s so important to get outside, every day, for us humans. We know that from watching our children. It can be so much harder getting out the door, with boots, coats and brollies in winter, but a walk in all weather, every day (and that means further than the bus stop) can help difuse those heavy feelings. Endorphins are well designed and they seem to work every time. We will all survive without your amazing posts for a while, as long as we know you are looking after yourself. Take care.

    • Thanks Angela! The weird thing is that the sun is shining today (probably why I *can* respond to you all) and we have had a really mild winter so far. I’ve just realised that the early sunset has been affecting me too and I never knew that! I also wonder if 10 years of being pregnant/nursing and being a full-time Mum has caught up with me and my brain and body are saying woooh.
      I love being outside and am being more conscious to get out and get my dose of sunlight when I can. So great to have everyone’s support. 🙂

  12. BinoandFino says:

    Hey Karyn,
    I wondered why I hadn’t heard from you in a while so decided to drop by and saw this post. A good friend of mine is affected by SAD. Apologies if I’m repeating what others have said but wishing you all the strength to deal with it. You take care of yourself.

    • Thanks Adamu. The craziest thing is that it has been a really sunny and mild winter – I have come to realise that the short days are also contributing to it all. I am certainly pacing myself and hope to be back on board in a few weeks: all things going well. 🙂

      • BinoandFino says:

        I understand. With my friend it was, you are saying, the actual nature of the days during the winter. So it could be sunny but the fact that the days were either short or relatively colder even contributed to it. The good thing is that your are taking steps to deal with it the best you can and pacing yourself. Looking forward to seeing you back on board in the coming weeks. 🙂

  13. Jennifer Burden says:

    You are missed! 🙂 Take your time, ofcourse. I hope you are beginning to feel better. I was just thinking of you today and thought I’d drop you a line! Hang in there! 🙂

    Jen 🙂

    • Hi Jen,
      Almost back!! The days are beginning to lengthen and I can feel my engine revving. I hope to be back in bits and pieces over the next month and then full-steam again. I willl have to come up with a better strategy for managing next year!

  14. Lil Z-Bear says:

    I hope you are feeling better. You haven’t blogged in a while. I hope all is well with you and the family.

    • Hi and thanks. All is becoming better now that the winter is drawing to an end and my poor brain is receiving more sunlight! Thanks for your message, I appreciate your kind thoughts.

Leave a Reply

