Update

The days are lengthening. The air feels lighter. The birds are chirping – after dinner. I can feel my energy returning!

SAD is really an odd thing to live with. I forget each summer just how bad I get it  and when it hits each winter I am always surprised. A drop in energy levels is a key precursor to depression and I should have been alerted when my brain insisted that I had a two week break in May. Nevertheless, I have survived another winter feeling constantly exhausted – I’ve worked hard at honouring my brain and body and been eating well and going to bed early.

The frustration I’ve experienced this year has been intense: I really have felt bad that I haven’t been reading all my fav blogs or writing. Yet, I have managed to keep things going for the boys, I have managed to write most of the temperament ebook, I have kept mostly healthy… While I doubt that I’m back fully yet – I can definitely feel a change in the air and intend to be back on track properly in a few weeks.

Hope you are all well. I’ve missed you. 🙂

About Karyn @ kloppenmum

kloppenmum is me, Karyn Van Der Zwet, mother of three and ex-teacher. I'm part of a revolution in parenting, with the aim to raise mature (not sophisticated) and self-assured children. I also know some stuff about adults. I have also had articles printed in The Journal for The British Association for Counselling and Psychotherapy (Children and Young People) and the US parenting magazine, Pathways to Family Wellness, as well I regularly write for World Moms Blog (named as one of the Forbes 100 most useful blogs for women 2012 &2013). You can follow me on facebook (kloppenmum) pinterest (Karyn at Kloppenmum) and twitter (@kloppenmum). I'm also vaguely on LinkedIn (Karyn Van Der Zwet). Thanks to Joe (Mr Hare) for taking the photo. Cheers, son: xxxx.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

38 Responses to Update

  1. Judy Unger says:

    I’ve missed you, too! I was worried about you. You’re so honest and I like how positive your thoughts are. Your awareness of this debilitating state hopefully helps you somewhat. Don’t be frustrated about keeping up with my blog! I will continue to write and I feel your love across the ocean. My journey is getting better by the minute.

    With love, Judy

  2. Laura Weldon says:

    Glad to hear that the SAD is lifting and you’ve been taking good care of yourself, although your version of cutting back (writing an e-book, parenting, managing a home, staying on a healthy diet, and I’m sure much more) hardly sounds relaxing!

    I suspect many of us need some kind of respite from our much too busy lives. We push ourselves until our bodies force us to take a break. Gradually I’m beginning to recognize the wisdom of the body. We get promptings all the time but we learn from an early age to ignore this kind of inner knowing. Or to label it as something else entirely—-lazy, reluctant, stubborn, headstrong, picky, anxious, timid, fussy—when really our bodies are telling us we need time to process, or need to do things at a pace natural to us, or need to step away from that person/situation/food/obligation, or simply need to honor the voice inside that tells us to run headlong in the other direction.

    Come back when you’re ready, not a moment sooner!

    • I agree that we are labelled rather than honoured for our need to rest or take a break, Laura. Today is a good day, so I’m here. I fully intend to pace myself a little more over the summer and perhaps leave a little more in the tank for next winter! Thanks for your comment. I shall take all the time I need. 🙂

  3. Mama B says:

    We miss you. Happy you are starting to feel better! No rush. Everything will be here when you are good and ready.

  4. Glad to hear you are OK. I have the same thing and I am dreading this winter. I’m going through the house now and remodeling. I want to lighten and brighten everything. We also have plans to open up the skylight in the bedroom (hubby works nights and needs a dark room to sleep during the day). I’m hanging wallpaper now. I’m going to find a light box or go tanning too. I just can’t have another winter like the last one. Glad you are coming out of it!

    • Great idea to remodel. We’re moving to a brighter house in October, so hopefully that will help me next year. It would be so great if we could just stop and not feel obliged to carry on with our full load, wouldn’t it?

  5. Great to hear from you, Karyn! I’ve been out of the loop, too, what with kiddos home for the summer and the rest of life vying for my attention. I’m happy to hear that you’ve been caring for yourself ❤

  6. Chirping birds after dinner … my, that is a harbinger of a brighter season. 😉

    • Yet, the rest of the country is in the grip of the biggest snowstorm ever!! LOL.
      Am looking forward to hearing about your travels and new destination. Will stop by soon. 🙂

  7. hillary says:

    Hi Karyn! Glad to hear you are feeling better. I was so heartened by your decision to care for yourself through this time. Thanks for modeling the importance of self care, that’s always the toughest thing for me.

    Looking forward to reading more when you are ready.

    Best,
    Hillary

    • Thanks Hillary,
      I do believe in at least *trying* to listen to my body and rest – not always easy in this mad modern world of ours. I hope to be posting again in a week or so. Thanks for your support. 🙂

  8. Lola says:

    Hi Karyn, it was so lovely getting your post in my inbox! I’ve missed you too. Glad that the light is coming back. I’m excited about your ebook too! You have a wonderful gift for enlightening explanations and writing that is grounded in experience.
    Xx Lola

  9. Lauren says:

    So glad to hear that you are feeling better! We have missed you!

  10. QueenArtLady says:

    Hallo
    The kids noticed last night that it is not getting dark when we have dinner, and I immediately thought of you and hoped that you will also start feeling better. However when we woke up with snow on our lawn and on Kapiti Island (for goodness sake, it’s an island!) all hope of Spring arriving faded away 😉
    Lovely to hear from you, take your time coming back. So exciting about moving soon. We are also remodelling, hopefully we will a indoor/outdoor flow this summer. (Frankly I couldn’t face moving, so we are just remodelling )

    • Kapit with snow on it?!!! It *is* a bizarre snow storm! Lots of the white stuff around Hastings, but none here – much to the boys’ disgust…mind you we still have another front coming through!
      Anyhoo – yes, our kids noticed that it was still daylight at dinner time too and I have been able to ‘greet the sun’ some mornings. Lovely to start all those summer-y routines again. The move is one we have been anticipating for a while – living in a bach size house with three boys is going to be interesting…Craig is an ex-builder so I have lived with constant half-renovations for 13 years – kind of over *THAT*!
      Thanks for stopping by.
      PS Have you been following the National Standards debate? It has huge implications for Steiner education in NZ. If you want to know more you could check out http://www.protect.org.nz

      • QueenArtLady says:

        Thanks for the link, I will have a read to understand it all better. There has been a lot of discussion at our local Waldorf school.
        And I forgot to mention my excitement about the temperament e-book.

        • Pleased you’re looking forward to the ebook. I am doing a little on it each week – it seems very slow and painful progress, but at least it’s progress. I will certainly let you know when it’s available. 🙂

  11. Yulia says:

    Hi Karyn, I am glad to hear from you again 🙂 Hope everything is getting better… I miss to read your blogs 🙂 I will always be here waiting for you 🙂

    Yulia

  12. thirdeyemom says:

    So glad to hear you are back! I missed your blogs and frequent comments and was starting to worry! As a survivor of PPD, I know how bad it can be. Looking forward to reading your posts again! 🙂

    • Thanks Nicole. It has been frustrating for me more than anything: you know, your brain thinks it can do it, but….nahhhh – no energy. I am looking forward to catching up with everyone’s news. Soon.

  13. Glad to see you back on deck and well on the road to being back to yourself

  14. Sorry to hear, Mama. I get it too and am dreading winter coming back.

    • Thanks for your support. I can understand your dread of winter – it’s a difficult time for so many people. I’ll be thinking of you as your days draw-in, that’s for sure. 🙂

  15. Marcy says:

    Glad to see you here again.

  16. I can completely understand how you feel – for a number of years I thought I had SAD as well, but it turns out it was my thyroid. My levels were always normal so it was discounted, then after having Agatha my levels swung to the hyper edge of normal and I felt AWESOME – in the winter! Last winter was great (other than the whole third trimester, new baby lack of sleep thing).

    I know it isn’t the answer for everyone, but it would be great if something ‘simple’ could explain things better for you.

    Glad to hear springs on the way for you, our days are getting shorter, and the heats kicked in a few times. So autumn is on the way. But I’m looking forward to winter this year – and all the fun we can have.

    • Thanks for that idea. I am due to go to the doctors for a full medical soon, so will have a chat about my thyroid. It’s always good to look at all the angles and that’s one which I hadn’t considered. Ans yes, after the biggest snow storms the country has seen for years last week…this week it is definitely spring and I *love* it! Thanks for your support. 🙂

Leave a Reply

