Achieving Peace in Our Lifetime

About a year ago I had a flash of realisation…

Calm is the Soul of Peace

What are the implications then for those children growing up in frantic, noisy homes where flashing electronic lights (tv, dvd etc), stress, and lack of nurturing and wholesome food are the norm?

What are the implications for the society in which we will age?

To change the future, what changes could you make to: where you live; how you live; what happens in your home each day?

Best Wishes for the Holiday Season and a Peaceful New Year everyone.

 

 

 

About Karyn @ kloppenmum

kloppenmum is me, Karyn Van Der Zwet, mother of three and ex-teacher. I'm part of a revolution in parenting, with the aim to raise mature (not sophisticated) and self-assured children. I also know some stuff about adults. I have also had articles printed in The Journal for The British Association for Counselling and Psychotherapy (Children and Young People) and the US parenting magazine, Pathways to Family Wellness, as well I regularly write for World Moms Blog (named as one of the Forbes 100 most useful blogs for women 2012 &2013). You can follow me on facebook (kloppenmum) pinterest (Karyn at Kloppenmum) and twitter (@kloppenmum). I'm also vaguely on LinkedIn (Karyn Van Der Zwet). Thanks to Joe (Mr Hare) for taking the photo. Cheers, son: xxxx.
This entry was posted in Electronics, Home Environment and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Achieving Peace in Our Lifetime

  1. janektcs says:

    I agree with you, Karyn, and I believe that what we can do, in the long run, is to be in the world with as much peace as we can bring to it. Being in a room with someone who is deeply peaceful can change a room full of more agitated people–and the opposite can also be true!
    Best wishes for a year of peace and growth for you and your loved ones!

    • Thanks, Jane. Best wishes to you too. I am working on being that calm person – and some days it even works. No more baby-hormones and a greater amount of sleep are certainly helping!

  2. Laura Weldon says:

    What a perfect way to put it. That’s a phrase I’d like to hang in my kitchen Karyn!

    I think that simple, peaceful homes where children are nurtured lovingly through touch, nourishment and gentle guidance is the ideal. But none of us live up to that ideal all the time nor can we shield children from life’s inevitable crises. The real aim, IMO, is to help develop that inner calm that our children can carry with them into the clamor of the world. To become, as Janektc says above, the sort of person whose own calm can change a roomful of agitated people. That’s a big goal, one I hold for myself. I know science has proven that our own peaceful heart rates have a calming impact on the people nearby, and nonviolence shows that our own attentive and loving approach to crises can, again, have a calming influence. It’s a matter of bringing that out in each of us. Let’s hope this awareness goes a long way toward achieving peace in our lifetime. Bless you for all the ways you bring this to the fore.

    • I love the sentiment, and your reply, Laura. I agree, there are some people who just exude calm. I strive to be more like them, because they do bring peace to a house and a room. I’m an the excitable side, so it is so important for me to ground myself in some quiet time or space. My kids (and I imagine any kid) benefit from intentional calm in our home. Even if its just a few moments a day.

      • I love that you describe yourself as excitable, Kelly – I’ll bet you’re great fun at parties! You are right, though, children do find excitable adults exhausting at times – although my boys just adore their excitable Aunt…she does such unexpected things for an adult! Thanks for stopping by and commenting. I appreciate it.

    • Thanks, Laura. In many ways this blog is my way of remaining conscious of my goal for calm. It certainly is more calm and pleasant around our house when I manage to maintain a (mostly) calm and quiet atmosphere. Hope your January has gone well and the rest of the year is marvellous too.

  3. Elena says:

    I struggle with this all the time. I know that internal calm can exist in the midst of (in spite of?) external chaos, but I am just far too influenced by my surroundings. Maybe that’s where I need to start – developing some kind of boundary or filter so that, just because my child sounds like they are miserable, or just because two of my children are having a conflict, I don’t have to take on that energy in order to interact, engage, facilitate. I am just currently very porous, so to speak.

    • I have always been pretty porous too! It’s tricky to maintain that calm when a child’s emotions tug at our heart-strings, I guess that’s why I am so excited about being able to tell the difference between Power Tantrums and Distress Tantrums – at least then I know when I have ‘permission’ to ignore the noise!

Leave a Reply

